God raises the stakes

I’ve gotten to a point where I’m generally not at a loss when talking about this movie, but the personal element of this blog is making me dig a little harder in what I say. It’s good. I should be digging harder. So, Here’s something I dug for; I don’t like to let people down. As a result I wonder if I avoid commitments?

There’s an trick in film making wherein you’re supposed to tell as many people as possible about your project from the beginning. This is, of course, to try and get a buzz going about your movie, but it’s also in this “claiming” of your project that you are putting yourself out there on a limb. The more people you tell, the more people will know you failed, if it doesn’t happen. The more people that join the team, the more people you let down, if it doesn’t happen. Obviously, all these elements make you try harder to make it happen.

It is against my nature to claim this project. I would much rather just appear, as if from nowhere, to the masses with this finished movie. People would say “Josh, I didn’t know you made a movie. What an amazing feat. You are some sort of quiet genius…etc.”

Raising these stakes is hard for me, but it would be impossible if I was raising the stakes based on my own ability. Like literally every other aspect of this movie, I wouldn’t have the courage to claim this thing, without God. This is his plan… it just happened to be in all the independent film making books I read.

This is on my mind specifically right now because we are on the threshold of announcing our principal cast. Once we do, it’s out there in the universe, forever on the internet. That’s great, because this project will use that momentum, to work towards it’s success. But just like the characters in the movie, I’m terrified to be outside of my comfort zone. Although, unlike them, I am confident it is where I’m supposed to be.

About godslilmoviemaker

I'm currently in post-production on the very low budget faith based feature film The Nothing. Check it out at thenothingmovie.com
This entry was posted in faith based indie film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God raises the stakes

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention God raises the stakes | Josh Childs' Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Don’t fear the internet.

Leave a comment